This Is For This Generation To Understand What Hindu Marriage Is

Hindu marriage/vivah/ permanently binds two individuals together, as they will pursue Dharma (responsibility), artha (possessions), Kama (physical cravings), and moksha (ultimate religious deliverance) together.

It is a legally recognised union of two persons as husband and wife. Marriage is followed by customary consummation rites in Hinduism. A wedding isn’t considered full or valid until consummation. It also brings two families together. For this event, red and gold are generally preferred colours.


Marriage Is Spiritual Power

Marriage is the sole acknowledged manner of perpetuating family in Hindu ceremonies, and by doing so, they return their duty to the ancestors. Hindu gods and goddesses assemble towards the end of Vivah sansakara and bestow their blessings on the newlyweds. Vivah is defined as the spiritual development of partners, as well as a method of learning many things in life.


About The Yajna Performed In Wedding

Havan’/’Homa’ is a fire sacrifice rite. It is derived from the Sanskrit word ‘hu’, which meaning to eat. Fire (Agni) represents purity to Hindus since it consumes the old and makes space for new creation as an interface between the material and spiritual worlds.

The ‘Havan’ is performed in a square-shaped ‘kunda’ or bilaterally symmetrical alter designed to unite the vertical element of fire with the horizontal components of water and soil. The ‘kunda’ is often composed of copper/stone/brick, built just for ‘havan’, and subsequently demolished.

The Indian Bride and Groom are seated in front of the fire alter, facing East, while the priest is seated north, facing south. The groom and bride join hands, make sacrificial fire offerings, recite sacred hymns, and walk the symbolic seven steps (‘Sapta Padhi’) all around the ‘Vivaha Havan.’ The holy hymns, or ‘Shlokas,’ as they are known, conclude with the term ‘Swaha,’ which implies ego surrender to fire.


Know more

Given the importance of the ‘Vivaha Havan’ in Hindu marriage, the offerings must be sacred and have a rational purpose to justify their use. The following is a list of some of the most regularly used objects and their functions:

1) Ghee – used to cleanse the sacrifice gases; represents the burning of the ego and the purification of the heart.

2) Sandalwood/Camphor – used to cleanse and scent the sacrifice gases; represents the ego’s burning.

3) Gangajal (Holy River Ganges Water) – water is thrown around the ‘Havan Kund’ to purify the environment and prevent the fire from spreading.

4) The lamp (diya) signifies the goddess Laxmi, who bestows wealth to the marriage.


The Arya Samaj mandir is a place where Hindu marriages are solemnized according to the principles of the Arya Samaj movement. It promotes simplicity, equality, and adherence to Vedic rituals. The Arya Samaj mandir serves as a sacred space where couples can unite in the presence of a Vedic priest, upholding the values of the Arya Samaj.


Marriage Is An Investment of commitment

Yes, you’ve read it right. However, unless the pair understands the idea of commitment, the marriage will fail. The mantra recited on the occasion is “Om mama vrite te hridayam dadhaami, mama chittam anu chittam te astu mama vaacham ek manah, jushasva prajapatishtva niyunaktu mayam” – a well-known pledge uniting the newly married couple. It implies, “I consider it my duty and take a vow with God as the first witness that I will fulfil all your desires and keep you as a member of my family.”

Rate this post

Leave a Comment