The Seven Vows In Indian Wedding – Is It Same As Western Culture’s Wedding Vows?

Marriage vows are the commitments made by two individuals at a wedding ceremony. These pledges might differ between religions and from partner to couple. You are essentially professing your everlasting devotion to your spouse in front of your loved ones. Vows may be beautiful and passionate, but they can also be humorous—it all depends on your style and the format of the ceremony, which your officiant will design.

Vows are often exchanged following your officiant’s sermon or any religious readings you desire. Following the vows and the announcement of marriage, you will usually exchange rings. These procedures are mainly seen in western weddings, but similar tradition is also there in Indian wedding rituals too. Most of the mandirs of Arya Samaj marriage in Delhi, Ghaziabad, Faridabad follows the wedding vow ritual, which is significant.


Saat Phera Is All About Hindu Wedding Vows

In terms of Hinduism, it is known as saat pheres.

‘Saat Phere’ appears to be lifted directly from a Bollywood film, yet they are as lovely as a Hindu wedding can be. Saat Phere, also known as Saptapadi, refers to the bride and groom taking seven steps or seven circuits around the holy fire. Each round or step represents one of the seven promises made by the bride and husband to each other. These vows are included in ancient Hindu scriptures and are considered the most holy element of the wedding ceremony. The pledges centre on treating the spouse fairly, being courteous, and having a happy marriage. Saptapadi is performed in Sanskrit mantras sung by the Pandit and repeated by the bride and groom.

Marriages are created in heaven, according to Hindu beliefs, and once sanctified, the two souls are married for seven lives. The seven vows are the seven marital commitments made by the bride and husband to each other to stay together in joys and trials, to be each other’s strength, and to look forward to a happy and successful life. The seven vows are the foundation of a perfect marriage and must be followed by both the bride and husband.


What are the seven vows?

The seven vows recited during saat pheras are as follows.

  • The first pledge is for good health, a flourishing family, taking obligations towards one another and their individual families, and maintaining long-held customs.
  • The second pledge is to strive together to achieve a pleasant mental and spiritual self-existence.
  • The third vow speaks of the importance of wealth and the pledge to attain it via total righteousness.
  • The fourth vow is about mutual understanding, equality, and respect for one another, as well as faith, dedication, and a pledge to oneself to learn throughout one’s life.
  • The fifth pledge is to seek the Almighty’s grace for a productive life and to pass on the generation with healthy kids.
  • The sixth vows is the promise of living a healthy and long life together.
  • The seventh and final vow is a pledge to each other to remain loyal, honest, and true to each other for the rest of their lives.


The beauty of Hindu weddings is that even the most little gesture has cultural or religious significance. In order for the seven vows to be performed, the holy fire in the havan kund is kindled using wood, ghee, and cow dung.

Rate this post

Leave a Comment